Position Statement : We Are Wakefield -EDL Not Welcome in Wakefield

We strongly oppose plans by the violent English Defence League (EDL) to hold a racist demonstration in Wakefield on Saturday 23 November.


We urge everyone to build the largest possible united peaceful celebration of multicultural Wakefield on Saturday 23 November to show that the overwhelming majority of Wakefield people reject the violence, racism and division of the EDL.


We oppose the cynical and self serving attempt by the EDL to bring racism and division to our multicultural city without a care for the damage they leave in their wake.


The EDL is a racist group dedicated to attacking Asian people and Muslims. Islamophobia – bigotry against Muslims – is as unacceptable as any other form of racism. Its aim is to divide us by making scapegoats of one community.

Today they threaten Muslims, tomorrow it could be Jewish people, Hindus, Sikhs, black people, lesbians and gay men, Travellers or Eastern Europeans.


Supported by

Wakefield and District Unite Against Fascism

UNISON South West Yorkshire Partnership Health Branch

CWU West Yorkshire Branch

Tony Robinson Bishop of Pontefract

Mary Creagh MP for Wakefield

Bill Adams Regional Secretary Yorks and Humber TUC

CWU North East Regional Youth

Ratna Lachman Just West Yorkshire

Chawa Muverengwi Director AWSP Foundation  

Mohammad Taj Unite, General executive member.

Kamaljeet Jandu National Officer GMB

Brian Hamill Chair Wakefield District City of Sanctuary 

Rev Mary Taylor Regional Minster for Yorkshire Baptist Association

Councillor Olivia Rowley

Kebba Manneh African Board 4 community Relations

John Durkin FBU Brigade Chair West Yorks

David Peace author

Jilly Riley, musician

David Pickersgill Treasurer Wakefield and 5 Towns Trades Council, 

Mohammed Ayub (Yubi) General manager of Next Generation

Councillor Nadeem Ahmed Wakefield South Ward

Tim Roache Regional Sec Yorkshire & N Derbyshire GMB

Thompsons Solicitors Leeds Office

Chawa Muverengwi Director AWSP Foundation  

Rachel Dix Regional Officer Yorkshire GMB

Jean Claude Nkurunziza, Chair of African Board for Community Relation (Hemsworth)

Steve Jennings Senior Organiser/Political Officer GMB Wakefield

Sally Kincaid Divisional Secretary Wakefield NUT

Greta Holmes Unison Young Members Rep

Ian Stevenson Regional Sec Yorkshire Midland NUT

C. Boothman Sec Wakefield and 5 Towns Trades Council

Juanita Charles, Regional Secretary, Yorkshire & the Humber. PCS

Alison Fender, Resident of Castleford, Labour Party and NUT member
Nicholas Fender, Resident of Castleford, Labour Party and GMB member.

Barbara Gregson Trustee Wakefied Labour Club

Stuart Boothman Treasurer: Phoenix Centre Alverthorpe, Wakefield FoE Co-ordinator

Trevor Howard RMT Yorks & Lincs Regional President

Hazel Danson & Patrick Murphy NUT National Executive Members West Yorkshire

David Williams West Yorkshire FBU Brigade Secretary 

Gill Goodswen Past President National Union of Teacher

Geoff Lockyer Organiser, PCS Leeds & District Revenue & Customs Branch

Paul Holmes Unison NEC (pc)

John Hughes Labour Link Offficer Wakefield Local Gov Unison

Laura Miles UCU NEC

Michael Brown Vice-Chair Co-operative Party, Bradford & District GMB

Bill Innes Legal Officer, Yorkshire & North Derbyshire GMB

Julie Tomlinson Wakefield Primary Headteacher

C. Weir Headteacher Holy Family & St. Michael’s Catholic Primary School

Jenny Slater Wakefield resident

Lynn Masterman Unite Rep

Cath Miles NUT rep Kettlethorpe High School

Kate Mayer GMB

Gerry O’Donnell Area Secretary, Wakefield NASUWT

Neil Cole GMB Convenor & Leeds Civic Branch Sec

David Gillian West Yorks FBU Bradford Division Chair

Pete Shaw Unite Construction

Katie Fallon Wakefield teacher NASUWT

Zamar Khan Wakefield & District NUT

Gus Khan Wakefield resident

Raman Khan Equality and Diversity Officer Wakefield & District NUT

Flo Bradley member of Wakefield Baptist Church

Adrian O’Malley Branch Secretary Unison -Mid Yorkshire Health

Joan Keane GMB Regional Equality and Inclusion Officer

Rachel Harrison GMB Regional Young Members’ Officer.

Shay Boyle Secretary GMB Chesterfield

Deanne Ferguson Senior Finance Assistant GMB Wakefield  

Kevin Straw Wakefield Resident.

Ryan Case – CWU Regional Youth Secretary

Pam Milner NASUWT National Executive Member

Andy Brammer Wakefield Unison member

Bridget Hopkinson – retired member NASUWT

Cathy-Jean Hyman Wakefield resident

Kirsty Lowe Wakefield resident

Simon Nodder Wakefield resident

Carly Doyle Senior organiser Yorkshire Midland NUT

Christine Hardacre SDSO Yorkshire Midland NUT

Robert Donaldson Casework Support Officer Yorkshire Midland NUT

Nick Raine Regional Officer Yorkshire Midland NUT

Russ Ballenger Regional Officer Yorkshire Midland NUT

Rhoda Andruchow Regional Officer Yorkshire Midland NUT

Ken Rustick NUT

Steven Finn Rail Maritime and Transport union (RMT) Leeds City branch and national rep

Patrick Ganley, Treasurer Wakefield NASUWT

Jetta Lüdecke, Labour Party Frankfurt, Germany

Kate Smith, PhD Researcher, Huddersfield

Chris Jenkinson Unison

Dave Wetzel President of the Labour Land Campaign.

Conie Nankuda AWSP Foundation

Michael Wood, Wakefield Resident

Name              Position/Union Email address


TO ADD YOUR NAME TO THIS STATEMENT, please email wearewakefield@gmail.com with your name and position